To the slaughterhouse and back

All grown up

Buttered toasts, hot tea and bills to pay

Tears dripping down the window glass

Rain pouring from my eyes

As the wooden box of secrets

Stored in the place behind my heart

Pops open

I never said I was pretty

It was always you

You said

You’re the prettiest girl in the world

You can be

Anybody you want

Anything you want

But I wasn’t was I?

But I couldn’t could I?

I just saw the sorrow in my eyes

That made them soft

I used to run from you, remember?

You would call

I would hide

I would sit on the bridge

And watch the trains go by far beneath

Wondering

How it would feel to jump

One day

I took her to the slaughterhouse

And told her

You are the prettiest girl in the world

You can be anybody you want

You can be anything you want

And now

I’m all grown up

Eating buttered toast, drinking hot tea and paying my bills

And once in a blue moon I take her back

Just to pay a visit

Just to remember

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment